Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

And so it all begins again

As most people who know me know, I’m truly, madly, deeply in love with my garden.  I’m infatuated, enraptured, verging on obsessed.  Around this time of year, my standing rule reapplies: I’m unavailable if it’s nice weather – if you need me, you can find me up to my elbows in dirt somewhere in my yard.

This coming Tuesday, March 1st, marks one full year of home and garden ownership.  It also marks a full circle of garden photos.  As things have begun emerging from the cold ground around my house, I’ve been comparing to the pictures I took last year of these same plants, and remembering blissfully how green and wild and brilliant my playground is about to become.

I’ve had to go back and refresh my memory as things have popped up in strange places that I have no recollection of – What is this thing? Was it here last year? Am I imagining things?  For the most part, I’ve found evidence of every surprise in the photos from last Spring, and I’m enjoying the period of rediscovery and reconnection immensely.

I’m also enjoying the contrast with the new things I put in, the areas I tidied up, all the changes I made.  It’s nice to be able to look back and tell that I really did accomplish things last year, considering that I spent the better part of every single evening, and well over the better part of every weekend day, in this garden.  My iris are tidy, rather than cramped.  My Thicket isn’t quite so overgrown.  I know that the Lamb’s Ear that I ripped out last summer will not be sneaking up on me any time soon, and I know that it’s about time to start keeping an eye out for the even sneakier bamboo invasion that I know will come.





My tiny hillside of springtime, where I planted at least 50 clumps of daffodils, is peeking out at me in fine form – I’ve counted 42 clumps up so far, and I’m sure there are more to come. I can’t wait to see how it looks – I’ve always wanted a field of daffodils, it’s been my fondest daydream for decades, and since I’m not allowed to take over the whole yard (Calin wouldn’t be able to mow, and would get very grumpy), this hillside is the manifestation of my dream so far. I’m waiting anxiously to see if my Tulips will bloom again. I don’t know what kind they are, so I don’t know whether they were the kind I get one shot at, or the kind that keeps coming back. We’ll find out soon – the leaves are up, and according to last year’s photos, I should have flowers starting in a few weeks.

I’m the kind of person who talks to everything, but I can’t help wandering around my yard every evening when I get home from work, checking on everybody and murmuring my encouragement and love. I adore these plants. I adore every single one of my tiny green friends, and I want them all to flourish and be brilliant in their own ways. I can’t wait to see what we can do together in the coming seasons.

Share your thoughts!

