Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

A Busy Year

How did we get to the middle of October? I’m looking back at my posts for the year and I was doing pretty well for a while there, keeping up with things.  The last post before this week was me talking about how I wanted to do one post a week.  Ha.  But it has been a very busy year for us – wedding after wedding and then OUR wedding (which was a whole week instead of the usual weekend) and our honeymoon and basement work.  And on top of that it just hasn’t been the best weather this year – which never helps me want to do anything.  Mostly I’ve been sleeping.

Here are some of the highlights you’ve missed in the past few months:

I hosted a tea party that I’m fairly sure I didn’t tell you about.  It was adorable. I know how to throw a tea party. But I didn’t take any pictures of the food.

~ * ~

We had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington – which in case you don’t know is one of the few true five star restaurants out there, and it’s in the middle of nowhere in Virginia.  Go figure…

Beef Two Ways

~ * ~

I tried to make the philo-wrapped asparagus Nora served at her wedding…  They need work.

~ * ~

I roasted golden beets that I grew myself, and I ate them, and they were delicious.

~ * ~

I made cucumber soup and basil grilled cheese as a romantic dinner for my honey.

~ * ~

I made my best pizza yet, for company, and it was beautiful!

~ * ~

I had a birthday, and so did my daddy, and we had a birthday cake that was amazing and we didn’t make it ourselves. Thanks Ruth!

2 responses

  1. Nora

    Yay!!! I love that you’re recreating the asparagus. :) You could always ping Barbara at Harvest Moon and ask her for the recipe– they might be cool with sharing it. <3 the tea party with the hyacinths.

    October 18, 2011 at 7:41 am

    • Not just hyacinths! The little purple bags are full of hyacinth beans, too! (Totally different, of course, but a naming theme!)

      October 19, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Share your thoughts!

