Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Moss Terrariums

I may not have mentioned that my house is full of tiny plants.  I have houseplants everywhere, and when any of them need to be cut back or divided, I can’t stand to get rid of any of the offspring, so I make babies.  I have spider plants, philodendron, peace lily, a few mystery plants, kalanchoe, peperomia, and ivy growing in little jars of water all over my house.  (You would be amazed at what will grow in just water – almost anything except aloe.)

This weekend, I had a moss collecting date with Grace.  Grace knows where to find the best moss, and she took me harvesting with her.  We filled jars and bottles and vases with moss, and collected broken bottle parts and other random things from the harvest site to make our moss feel more at home.  I took my moss home and made these:



~ * ~


~ * ~

2 responses

  1. Grace

    I love the tiny snake!

    October 19, 2011 at 11:19 am

    • In the end, all I could find was one snake and one lizard. I’m reasonably sure there are tiny frogs and more snakes and lizards under our rug. Thanks, Reenie…

      October 19, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Share your thoughts!

