Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Buttered Rosemary Rolls

Last week, I found this recipe, which looked amazing.  Then yesterday I found THIS recipe, which just about floored me.  And then I read the second recipe again, and realized it wasn’t actually a dough recipe.  It was a technique recipe, that requires another dough recipe.  Light Bulb. (Pardon the weird subtitles – and if you haven’t seen that movie, go rent it NOW).

For some reason, yesterday was a bread day.  As in, I wanted it.  Badly. So as soon as we got home from work, skipping any semblance of dinner prep, I started working on these.  Dough has to rise, you know.  I barely had all the ingredients I needed, and fortunately I have the world’s biggest rosemary shrub growing in my garden, so this was perfect.

Now, the problem with baking after work, as you may or may not have noticed from my earlier posts, is that I’m a bit scatterbrained.  I have a tendency to mess things up.  Fortunately, I apparently also have the baking gods on my side, because it usually works out.

I didn’t have whole milk.  I didn’t have 2% milk.  I had whipping cream and 1% milk.  Well, we can make something with that.  Here is the milk mixture with butter floating on top.  Mmm…  You can judge a good recipe by its butter content.

I was a little worried my yeast wouldn’t be good.  I shouldn’t have been – this almost exploded all over my counter.  In fact, it was supposed to sit for 10 minutes, and I only gave it 5 because I was afraid it WOULD explode.

Scatterbrains wasn’t paying attention to the recipe here, and poured that rushed yeast mixture directly into the flour.  And then said, “whoops, I bet we were supposed to add the milk first.” And we were.  But we rushed that, too, and it all worked out fine.

I ended up having exactly enough flour, which is good, because I am really, truly out of flour now. (Onto the list it went!)  Also, as you can see, I had a bit of an identity crisis about which mixer attachment to use.  My first thought was dough hook, because I’m making dough.  And then I realized that the first step with the mixer is to mix frantically for a while until it’s all smooth. Dough hooks can’t do that.  So I switched to the mixer blade. And then I got to the end, and the mixer blade was just making a mess, so I switched back to the dough hook for all of about 30 seconds, just to see if the dough really was pulling away from the sides and forming a ball-like thing.  It was.  A very sticky ball-like thing, but a ball-like thing.

Hmm…  I seem to have gotten flour on my hands. Anybody need to fingerprint me for anything?  Guess I should have changed out of my work pants before I threw myself so enthusiastically into this project…

Before and after the first rise:

I may or may not be far too fond of using a lettuce knife (thanks, Wellbeloved-Stones!) to cut dough.  Although it works much better on these than it did on pizza dough.

Before and after the second rise:

Look how big these got!  I’ve decided that next time, I’m going to actually use my kitchen scale to make the balls even, and I’m going to cut each batch into much smaller pieces so you feel like you’re eating less of them.  I should probably also cut the recipe in half unless I have a small army coming to eat…

Here’s the really fun part.  I used my silicon pastry brush to coat the rolls with butter, then Calin helped me sprinkle the rosemary, and then I went to town with the salt.  In retrospect, I could have used butter in the pans instead of olive oil, and I could have added more salt, maybe even in the dough.  But I might also just be on a serious salt kick.

Good golly these were tasty.

~*~

Dinner Rolls

Adapted from Eat Cake For Dinner, adapted from Our Best Bites

Ingredients

  • 2 c. whole milk*
  • 1/2 c. plus 1 Tbl. sugar, divided
  • 1/3 c. unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp. kosher salt
  • 2 pkgs. (4 1/2 tsp.) active dry yeast
  • 2/3 c. warm water
  • 8-9 c. all-purpose flour, divided
  • 3 beaten eggs

*According to Eat Cake, they recommend whole milk, but if you’re in a pinch 2% milk will work, but try to stay away from 1% or skim.  I was in a pinch and didn’t have 2% either, so I used 1/2 c. whipping cream and 1 1/2 c. 1% milk.

Directions

  1. Combine milk, 1/2 c. sugar, butter and salt in a medium saucepan.
  2. Heat over medium heat until butter melts into salty-sweet perfection.
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool to lukewarm (this is really important, because if it is too hot, it will kill the yeast).
  4. While the milk mixture is cooling, dissolve the yeast and 1 Tablespoon of sugar in warm water.
  5. Let stand about 10 minutes. If the yeast hasn’t bubbled, you’ll need to repeat this step with new yeast.
  6. In a large mixing bowl, combine 3 cups of flour and milk mixture.
  7. Beat on low for 30 seconds, scraping sides of bowl constantly.
  8. Add yeast mixture and beat on high for 3 minutes.
  9. Add beaten eggs.
  10. Stir in as much of the remaining flour as needed to make a soft dough. This should should be very soft – it will be coming away from the sides of the bowl, but it will still stick to your finger when you touch it. (If you add too much flour, these rolls will be heavy and dense).
  11. Place the bowl in a warm place and cover with a clean towel; allow to rise until doubled, about 1 hour.
  12. Punch down dough.
  13. Lightly flour your work surface and turn dough out onto surface.
  14. Divide in half. Spray two 9×13-inch glass pans with cooking spray.
  15. Pat first portion of dough into a rectangle and then cut into 12 equal-sized pieces.
  16. Shape each piece into a ball and place in prepared pan. Repeat with remaining dough in the second pan.
  17. Cover with a clean cloth and allow to rise in a warm place for about 30 minutes.
  18. When dough has about 15-20 minutes to go, preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  19. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown. When done, remove from oven.
  20. Rub a stick of cold butter over the tops of the rolls. Eat one now while it’s still hot!!

~*~

Buttered Rosemary Rolls

Adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

  • Frozen, unbaked dinner rolls OR your favorite from-scratch dinner roll dough
  • Melted butter, regular, salted
  • Fresh rosemary, coarsely chopped
  • Coarse sea salt

Directions

  1. Spray a small iron skillet with cooking spray (or coat with olive oil).
  2. Place rolls in skillet, leaving plenty of room for rising.
  3. Cover and allow to rise for several hours, or whatever your dough recipe calls for.
  4. After rising, brush rolls with melted butter.
  5. Sprinkle with chopped rosemary.
  6. Brush with additional butter.
  7. Sprinkle with coarse sea salt.
  8. Bake according to packaging or dough instructions, until rolls are a deep golden brown on top.
  9. Serve skillet on the table.
Share your thoughts!

