Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Rockin’ Moroccan Stew

By sheer coincidence, this recipe is actually vegan.  It doesn’t taste vegan, and it’s delicious to non-vegans, even people who don’t typically like vegetables.  (It does have peanut butter, so it’s not nut-allergy friendly.)

This is my mother’s recipe, and we discovered it was vegan entirely by accident (it’s not something you think about if you’re not vegan) when she needed something to bring to our movie club, which is 90% vegetarian and 2% vegan (percentages approximate).  Since that discovery, several more people in my life have become vegan, so this is turning into quite the go-to recipe.

Fortunately, it’s quite simple.  Sure, there’s a lot of chopping, but it’s not complicated, and the ingredients aren’t too far out there, either.  Other than sweet potatoes, I generally have all of this in my pantry already – and I’m trying to keep sweet potatoes on hand more often!

I think ginger is one of the best ingredients in anything, so I don’t actually measure it.  I just keep grating until I feel like it’s enough, and then I grate a bit more just to be safe.

Soften the celery, onion, garlic and green pepper in olive oil.  My le creuset pot is perfect – it conveys the heat very well, but the oil never sparked, and nothing even thought about burning.  (I love this pot – thank you John & Andrea!.)

After that, it’s as simple as dumping in all the other ingredients, stirring, and letting the whole thing meld.  You do reserve the raisins (or craisins, which I prefer), peanut butter and cilantro until things are fairly melded, but I don’t think it would make a huge difference if you just threw them in there.  I also skip the cilantro, because I know a few people who are psychologically allergic to it, and because I use it so rarely that I can’t be bothered to have it around.  If I had parsley on hand, I would use that instead.

Look how beautiful and stew-like it is!  It’s thick and rich, and the vegetables are soft and flavorful, and the whole thing is just delicious.  I really should make this more often.

~*~

Rockin’ Moroccan Stew

Makes 6 servings.

Ingredients:

  • 2 t. olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • ½ cup diced celery
  • ½ cup chopped green pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 cups vegetable broth
  • 3 cups peeled, cubed sweet potatoes
  • 1 can (14 ½ oz.) tomatoes, drained and cut up
  • 1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 2 t. grated gingerroot
  • 1 t. ground cumin
  • 1 t. curry powder
  • 1 t. ground coriander
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • ½ t. salt
  • ¼ t. black pepper
  • ¼ cup raisins (or craisins)
  • 2 T. light peanut butter
  • 2 T. chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large, non-stick saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Add onions, celery, green peppers, and garlic.
  3. Cook and stir until vegetables begin to soften, about 3 minutes.
  4. Add all remaining ingredients, except raisins, peanut butter, and cilantro.
  5. Bring to a boil.
  6. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.
  7. Stir in c/raisins, peanut butter, and cilantro.  Mix well.
  8. Simmer for 5 more minutes.
  9. Serve hot.
7 responses

  1. Leah

    Looks interesting. How spicy/hot is it?

    January 9, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    • It’s actually not spicy at all – it sounds like it, but I would actually call it “zesty”. It’s ginger spice, not pepper spice.

      January 9, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  2. Caroline

    ahem, when you say “It doesn’t taste vegan,” what exactly do you mean? I’m not sure you intended it this way, but it kind of sounds like you’re saying vegan stuff usually tastes bad. :-) As a new vegan, I can’t wait to try this! Every vegan recipe we’ve made so far is delicious and I bet this one will be as well, especially since it involves peanut butter. Thank you for sharing it. ~ love you~ your Carababy

    January 9, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    • It almost tastes creamy – which is not something I usually expect from vegan soup! It really is amazing – and the peanut butter is a strange and delicious addition!

      January 9, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  3. Caroline

    this is so delicious!!! I have made it many times since my comment over a year ago.
    I just shared the recipe with a friend who has eaten it at my house and your percentages caught my eye. I acknowledge your note that they are approximate, but did you know that in order to have a whole person, that 2% vegan would mean there are 50 people in your movie club!? and 45 of them would be vegetarians. And with that mathematically achievement, I clearly am ready to leave work for today. :)

    February 21, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    • Hmm, let’s see. 1 vegan out of 14ish people. Whatever that comes out to. :) Also, I just checked again and it’s actually split between veggies and non-veggies, it’s just that the non-veggies never actually bring non-veggie things out of politeness and a desire to actually feed people. :)

      February 21, 2013 at 7:30 pm

  4. Caroline

    *mathematical ….

    February 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Share your thoughts!

