Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Bruce Paltrow’s World-Famous Pancakes

This cookbook is one that I would never have picked up on my own (except for the fact that I am actually a bit in love with Gwyneth Paltrow), but I read a surprising and wonderful review of it somewhere, possibly the NPR book list, and then I found a copy at the Friends of the Library book sale this fall. Finally flipping through it now, I found quite a few recipes that I am excited to try, the first of which is one of two pancake recipes in the book.

I was initially inspired by these because they involve making the batter the night before, so all you have to do in the morning is cook. Since Calin and I never get up in time to do anything real in the mornings, I thought it might be nice to try these so add some excitement to a weekday breakfast.

The flavor was quite good, but either my baking powder was dead (I’ve replaced it to find just in case) or Gwyneth and I have very different definitions of what makes an amazing pancake. These weren’t fluffy – they were just sort of … thin. And I didn’t add milk to the batter in the morning – it wasn’t any thicker than it had been the night before, so I didn’t think it needed any extra. Again, just in case it was the fault of my baking powder (which Alton Brown says is only supposed to be good for 6 months), I’m going to try them one more time before I give up on them. But at first blow, I’m still looking for the world’s best pancakes.




~*~

Bruce Paltrow’s World-Famous Pancakes
My Father’s Daughter, Gwyneth Paltrow

Active Preparation time: 20 minutes
Total Preparation time: 20 minutes plus overnight resting

Makes 3 dozen 5-inch pancakes

Ingredients

  • 3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons fine salt
  • 3 cups buttermilk
  • 6 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled, plus more butter for cooking
  • 6 large eggs
  • Up to 1 cup milk, as needed to thin batter
  • Real Vermont maple syrup, warmed, for serving

Directions

  1. Whisk the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.
  2. Whisk the buttermilk, butter, and eggs together in another bowl.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, whisking just enough to combine (small lumps are okay).
  4. Let the batter sit, covered, overnight.

The next morning:

  1. Heat up your griddle or favorite nonstick pan and slick it with a little butter.
  2. Add enough milk to the batter to thin it to the right consistency – the thicker the batter, the thicker and heavier your pancakes; the thinner the batter, the more delicate your pancakes – neither is wrong.
  3. Cook the pancakes on the griddle, flipping them after bubbles appear on the surface of the uncooked side.
  4. Let cook 2-3 minutes more, then remove, and eat with lots of warm maple syrup.
One response

  1. Pingback: 10 Hour Chicken « livingwithpurple

Share your thoughts!

