Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Lemon Chicken

This recipe is my own lazy variation on a recipe I found on the Canadian Dairy Goodness website. (I know, what a weird thing.  I’m still not sure how I found that site, but it’s got some great recipes.) It had to be modified because it calls for things like chicken bouillon, and parsley, which I never have.

I spent about a week making things for dinner that involved chicken and couscous.  I’m actually fairly fond of this as a solution to my dinnertime woes, because the chicken takes about 10 minutes, the couscous takes about 8, and I made something that technically includes a side dish.  Also, they’re both good for you.  If you added a green salad, this might actually qualify as a healthy dinner, in addition to fast.

It turns out pounding chicken is actually pretty much fun.  I didn’t know, but since I used two of our plastic cutting mats and a hammer, I guess the odds were in my favor.  I do have an actual tenderizer now, and it did destroy one of the cutting mats, but I’d say it was worth it.

Make sure you keep pounding for a while to thin these out.  If the pieces aren’t all evenly thin, it’s much harder to get them to cook evenly.  But maybe this is only an issue if you never actually get to saute them in the juice, the way the recipe instructs.

Let me just say that flavor aside, this sauce was a bit of a dud.  It tasted delicious, but it just did not do what the recipe said it would do.  Maybe I just used the wrong pan, but somehow I was supposed to be able to bring this to a boil and actually cook the chicken in it that way, and then have enough left to thicken it into a sauce.  Fat chance – it basically just acted as a browning sauce.  But it was tasty.

Lemon Butter-Glazed Chicken
Diary Goodness

Ingredients

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • Flour
  • 3 T. butter
  • 3 T. water
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 t. chicken bouillon mix
  • Chopped parsley
  • Lemon slices

Directions

  1. Pound chicken lightly to flatten.
  2. Coat with flour and shake to remove excess.
  3. In large frypan, melt butter.
  4. Add chicken breasts and saute until golden brown on both sides.
  5. Add water, lemon juice and chicken bouillon mix to pan; stir until dissolved.
  6. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat.
  7. Reduce heat, cover and simmer 5 minutes until chicken is no longer pink in center.
  8. Remove chicken from pan; keep warm.
  9. Cook and stir pan juices over high heat until thickened and syrupy, 1-2 minutes.
  10. Pour glaze over chicken, sprinkle with parsley, and garnish with lemon slices.

Notes: As I mentioned,  I made the modified version.  The pan I used didn’t work at all for boiling and simmering, so I just put everything together in the pan (I used some vegetable base instead of chicken bouillon), and kept pan frying the chicken until it wasn’t pink.  By then there was so little of the sauce left that it wasn’t worth even trying to make an actual sauce out of it, so I just served the chicken and poured what was left of the juice over the top.  I also didn’t have any lemon slices, so I just skipped the garnish entirely.  It still tasted great, and all told was about a 15 minute dinner.  We also had plenty of leftovers, so with some new couscous, we had the same thing again the next night!

One response

  1. Leah

    Neat! That site does have interesting recipes….as if I needed more.

    February 16, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Share your thoughts!

