Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Chicken Soup – A Query

LivingWithPurple followers, I have an urgent request!  Calin feels a sore throat coming on, and has requested chicken soup for dinner.  This is a last-minute request, and may result in canned soup (the horror!) because I don’t have very much time.  I’ve never made home-made chicken noodle soup before – in fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever made chicken soup of any kind – so I’m reluctant to start making something up at the last minute.

Here’s where you come in: Do you have a stand-by chicken soup recipe that doesn’t take hours (or rare talents at obscure cooking practices)?  I would love to make rather than buy if I can!

4 responses

  1. alright. cook some bow-tie noodles up. take a bunch of chicken stock, sliced celery, (maybe carrots, i dunno, you like carrots?) toss ins some parsley sage Rosemary and thyme (or listen to the song, also an option) Big scoops of chopped garlic (can never get enough garlic). get a pre cooked rottisery chicken, rip it apart and throw it in with the stock. once the noodles are done toss them on there too. let it simmer for a while, or something. I don’t cook like a chemist, i cook like a mad man lol, see regular Swedish meal time for my cooking methods.

    May 17, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    • Cooking like a mad man is the best kind of cooking. Just remind me never to eat cookies you made… So true about garlic, and since I have more rosemary than you can shake a stick at (unless it’s a really big stick), that’s always nice, too. And yes, I do like carrots.

      May 18, 2012 at 7:48 am

  2. I like Patrick’s idea. I’m not a recipe-follower when it comes to soup. I tend to dump whatever I have in it. With chicken soup, I prefer rice. So I stew the chicken, add onion, celery, pepper, garlic and spices… let that cook while I chop up the chicken… then add the chicken and the rice and let it simmer awhile. Of course it’s better if you have a day so you can let the liquid cool overnight and skim the fat off the next day.

    May 18, 2012 at 6:46 am

    • Thanks for the suggestions! I did end up throwing something together that turned out fairly well (post to follow today – I’m ahead of the game for once!), but you’re right – the leftovers today will be even better. I wouldn’t have thought to skim the fat, though – good reminder!

      May 18, 2012 at 7:47 am

Share your thoughts!

