Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Last Minute Chicken Noodle Soup

True love is hot tea and home-made chicken noodle soup.

Which is what my poor, sore-throated hubby requested this evening, and what his sweet, loving wifey made for him.

Aren’t we adorable?

Yesterday, I called an emergency conference of People Who Read My Blog or Facebook Posts, when Calin requested chicken noodle soup to help him feel better.  I have never made chicken noodle soup.  I have never made chicken not-noodle soup.  I have made soup, though, so I figured with the right recipe I could probably pull this off.

In case you were wondering, no, I’m not very good at following recipes.  I tend to make things up as I go.  Unless I’m baking – I try to follow along better then.  Anyway, I didn’t actually have a recipe for this one.  Four fabulous friends provided three similar but slightly different lists of ingredients, with approximate amounts (which was entirely appropriate for this request, I might add), and I figured, what the heck.  I’ll do exactly what someone told me not to do and combine them all.

So we have Swanson chicken broth as a base (because one of the recipes is on the back, and I didn’t want to write it down or look it up, so I just bought the darned thing), which calls for one box of broth, 1 carrot, 1 celery stalk, 1 cup of chicken, and some nooodles.  Then we have suggestions from four people – add more stuff, add other stuff, use rotisserie chicken since it’s delicious and ready already, cook some stuff…  Thanks, awesome friends.  I can do this.

I tried to get fresh pasta, but the lady at the pasta store told me the noodles would just dissolve in a soup.  She said they weren’t really even meant to go in water at all.  How odd.  Anyway, I believed her, and just got some nice fat packaged egg noodles.

I initially figured I couldn’t have too much celery or carrots, but then I quit half way through – four carrots, four celery stalks.  It seemed like the right amount at the time, so I stopped there.

I started with two onions, discovered I had a 1/4 onion in the fridge already, and then only used one of the other onions.  Again, it just seemed like it was enough.  I dissected an entire rotisserie chicken.  I wanted a lot of chicken, and I didn’t want to leave just a tiny bit left, so I just used it all.

So far so good…  I put the broth, celery, and carrots in the pot while I was chopping onions (and bawling my eyes out from the fumes) and shredding chicken.  Once the onions were added, things started to get crowded.  Then I added the chicken and 2/3 a bag of egg noodles.  Yeah… Not a whole lot of liquid to cook those noodles in.

I should mention that I used not only the entire carton of chicken broth, but also about half a carton of vegetable broth that I had frozen left over from another meal.  So clearly I overdid it on the veggies/chicken/noodles, and clearly it was good that I didn’t get even more carried away.

Anyway, I boiled some water in my awesome electric tea kettle and poured it in to top off the soup.  That did the trick – at least the noodles could actually be covered.  Then I covered it and simmered for about 10 minutes until everything felt soft.

Overall, this was a substantial success.  Dinner prepared “from scratch” (Does the rotisserie chicken make that a lie? I’m using quotes just in case.) in less than 45 minutes, including cook time, and it turned out delicious.  Calin said it could use more salt, but I think he just likes salt.  I thought it was great, and he did eat it all, so it must have been pretty good even without extra salt.

~*~

Last Minute Chicken Noodle Soup – approximate recipe
Made up on the spot with inspiration from Jill, Liz, Patrick, and Enrica

Makes one big pot of soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 cartons chicken or vegetable broth (or 1/2 cartons + 2 cups of water)
  • 4 carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 4 stalks of celery, coarsely chopped
  • 1 1/2 onions, coarsely chopped
  • 1 rotisserie chicken, shredded
  • 3/4 lb. extra wide egg noodles
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • herbs to taste (I used a bit of rosemary, thyme, sage, and parsley, but not enough to really tell)

Directions:

  1. In a large stockpot, combine the broth with the carrots, celery and herbs, salt and pepper.
  2. Bring to a boil, then add the onions, chicken, and noodles.
  3. Reduce heat to low, cover partially (leave a gap to avoid boil-over), and simmer for 10-12 minutes.
  4. Serve warm with bread or crackers.
Share your thoughts!

