Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Asparagus and Chicken Sausage Quiche

Quiche is one of the things that I always wish I made more often.  Since I now have the world’s fastest and easiest pie crust recipe thanks to my awesome sister-in-law, and I have the world’s most fool-proof (you would think…) quiche filling recipe, I really have no excuse.  So this week, we embarked on another quichey adventure.

The pie crust recipe makes enough for one 9-inch pie pan, but I really like thinner pie crusts, so I typically end up with too much dough.  This time, I solved that problem by doubling the recipe and making three quiches (well, okay, two and a tiny) instead of one.  My filling problem, oddly, goes the other direction – probably because I actually have a 9 1/2 inch deep dish pie pan.  So in order to make enough filling for all three quiches, I basically faked it in the realm of 2 1/2 times the recipe.

I took a few pointers from my last quiche adventure (but not the one about rolling out my quiche dough), and I uses all vegetable oil instead of olive oil.  It has a much better – milder – flavor, which I think makes it a better crust.  The olive oil last time was a bit much.  I also used less cheese in and on the pie, so it wouldn’t crisp quite as much.  And then I covered the crust of one of the quiches with tin foil to cut down on the crisping.  The other two burned; the tin foiled one was perfect.  I really need to buy some of those amazing little pie crust cover thingies – tin foiling in a circle is a pain in the behind.

I also added some spices to my dough this time – I added some rosemary and garlic powder in one batch, and some dried minced onion in the other.  Honestly, once they were cooked, I couldn’t really taste the minced onion, so I probably won’t bother next time.  The rosemary and garlic powder were nice, though.

Here’s the crust line-up.  Look at that nice rosemary fresh from my hedge in the back yard!

Mmm, rosemary.  Also, this is one of my favorite gadgets.  My mom had one when I was growing up, and I always wondered whether they were still around, so when I found one at the store the other day I snapped it up.  If you’ve never used an herb mincer, please go out and find one to play with.  You know how annoying it is to painstakingly chop up fresh herbs, with them moving all over the place and escaping and the pieces never getting small enough?  This thing just rolls around on a cutting board and cuts perfectly and isn’t any trouble at all, and then it’s even relatively easy to clean! Best invention.

So, I mentioned that this was an adventure.  Cooking is always an adventure, but this one was more so than usual.  At about the time I was mincing rosemary, this was rolling in.

I went ahead with my quiche, unsuspecting, as I started to hear thunder and the power flickered once or twice.

The dough came together perfectly (look at the rosemary flecks!), and I pressed it into the pie pan.  This time I tried starting from the middle and using my thumbs to press outward until it was as thin as I wanted. Then I just pulled off the excess from the edges and added it to the other pie crust.

Crusts done, I moved on to the filling.  I’ll write out the whole recipe at the end, but it’s really really simple – eggs, yogurt, cheese.

By this point we’d gone from very dark to total downpour.  Power flickering, thunder crashing, and rain pounding the roof.  It’s hard to get a feel for it, but it was just dumping on us.

Then it happened.  I ran out of yogurt.  I would have been fine if I’d just been making one quiche, but for 2 1/2 quiches, I needed 2 1/2 times the yogurt.  Uh oh…  There was nothing for it, I had to brave the onslaught.  The quiche must go on.

This is the river running out of my neighbor’s yard.  In case you can’t tell, that’s a lot of water.  (I checked the next morning – we got 2 inches of rain in about 2 hours.)  After taking a few pictures of the flooding, I donned my red raincoat, slipped on some flip-flops, and bolted for the car.

It turned out it was a very good thing I didn’t wait for the storm to pass, because I got to our neighborhood grocery store (you know, local produce, organic everything, good stuff) about 5 minutes before they locked me out.  I hadn’t even thought to look at the clock before I left.

As an aside, an amazing thing happened when I got to the store.  As I was pulling in, another lady was getting out of her car a row away with her umbrella.  When she saw me stopping, she paused in the middle of the parking lot, umbrella high, rain walloping her, and waited for me to turn off the car.  Then she gestured at her umbrella and at me, inviting me to share her umbrella for the dash into the store!  What a humbling act of kindness from a complete stranger!  (That’s the second time something like that has happened to me.  Remind me to tell you about the lady at the coffee shop, sometime.)  I was so grateful – I almost felt bad that I didn’t need the umbrella (thanks, awesome raincoat), but I made sure to thank her profusely. Generous people should always know that they are appreciated.

Anyway, I got the yogurt (Brown Cow lowfat plain, by the way.  It’s so good – especially after eating greek yogurt for a while, which is really bitter, this plain yogurt has the best flavor!) and shuffled back through the puddles to my kitchen, praying that the monster kitten hadn’t licked the bowl clean while I was gone.  (He’s known for doing things like that.  And for his vendetta against paper towels.  And for disappearing the fish.)

Yogurt disaster averted, I added my chosen ingredients.

Chopped chicken sausage – can’t remember what brand, but roasted garlic variety, chopped asparagus (not too small) and grated cheddar cheese. Next time I may cook the asparagus first – this was raw, and I think it made the quiche a little sour, oddly.

Because I had finally taken account my oversized pie pan from the beginning, I ended up with a full quiche this time.  (By the way, in our house, we call these “quickies”.  You have no idea how hard it is to actually type “quiche” all through this.)

40  minutes later, I had three fully cooked, not wobbly, not juicy, not burned, really tasty quiches.  What an accomplishment!  This was particularly exciting because not only did we have dinner that night, but we also had lunch for the next three days.  (I really love it when I can just pack leftovers instead of actually making things for lunch.  Have I mentioned how much I hate packing lunches?)

~*~

Basic Quiche
Nina’s Little Book of Recipes

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (4 if you have big pie dish like mine)
  • 1 c. plain yogurt (1 1/2)
  • 1 c. grated cheese (at least! I never bother to measure.)
  • pre-cooked meat and/or veggies
  • salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Beat eggs and mix in yogurt.
  2. Add 3/4 of the cheese and the meat/veggies.
  3. Stir and pour into pre-baked pie crust.
  4. Sprinkle remaining cheese on top.
  5. If desired, wrap exposed crust with foil to prevent burning.
  6. Bake at 400 degrees for 25-35 minutes.

Great Quiches:

  • bacon, leeks, and jarlsberg
  • roasted cauliflower and carrots, caramelized onions, and goat cheese
  • smoked salmon, cream cheese, and scallion
  • chard, grated potato, and roasted garlic with cheddar
  • tomato, corn, and bacon, with rosemary and cheddar
  • roasted sweet potato and mushrooms with goat cheese
Share your thoughts!

