Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Blueberry Muffins

I made these amazing muffins a few weeks ago, but I haven’t had a chance to post them yet.  Just looking through the pictures is making me hungry – I might have to make them again this week!

I have a serious soft spot for blueberries. One of my neighbors growing up was a pick-your-own blueberries (and raspberries and blackberries) farm, which was always fantastic on those long summer days when I wasn’t in school.  It’s much harder to make it out there now that I’m working during normal business hours, but I fantasize about pints and pints of blueberries, and I drool over any recipe with blueberry in the name (or ingredients list).   I recently discovered a list of favorite blueberry recipes on Sweet Pea’s Kitchen (the list is at the end of her post on Individual Blueberry Buckles – every single one of them looks incredible) and nearly went mad trying to pick one to make RIGHT NOW.  (Look out for a post on this disastrous attempt later this week…)

I discovered this recipe (sort of) during an intense craving for blueberry muffins.  I did a quick search of my google reader (90% cooking blogs!) for a recipe from a source I already know and love, and I found three!  Of course I can’t just pick one and try it (mainly because I was missing a few ingredients), so instead I combined all three.  Imagine my utter astonishment when it worked out perfectly!

The best part about these muffins is that they use yogurt, so I can pretend the are good for me.  I also used half whole wheat and half white flour (only 1/2 and 1/2 because Calin would have gotten pouty otherwise), so that’s healthy too, right?

Egg, then egg and sugar.

Egg, sugar and butter; egg, sugar, butter, and yogurt. Whisking is so much fun.  That’s probably why I loved this recipe so much.  That and the fact that the muffins are delicious.

Half the dry ingredients mixed in with the wet.

Floured blueberries, then combined batter.

It’s hard to see, but there are little bits of sprinkled sugar all over that little muffin…

Unlike the disaster I’ll be posting later this week, these muffins came out perfectly.  They’re a bit yellow in my kitchen light, but they were soft with the perfect level of crisp on top from the sugar, not dry at all.  It was love at first nibble.  (Calin ate half of the mini-muffins before I even got around to taking pictures, which is why there are only four of them in this shot!)

~*~

Blueberry Muffins with Raw Sugar Crunch
Inspired by and adapted from Smitten Kitchen , Pioneer Woman, and Eat Cake For Dinner:

Makes 12 muffins plus 8 minis, or just 12 muffins if you fill them more

Ingredients:

  • 5 T butter, melted
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. yogurt (I used Brown Cow low-fat plain)
  • 2 c. flour (I used 1 c. all purpose and 1 c. whole wheat)
  • 3/4 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 pint fresh blueberries
  • turbinado sugar for crunchy tops

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Spray 12-cup muffin tin with vegetable oil spray (or use silicone muffin tins, which don’t require greasing unless you are making a layer cake and want it to look pretty)
  3. Whisk flour, baking powder and salt in medium bowl until combined. Set aside.
  4. Whisk egg in second medium bowl until well-combined and light-colored, about 20 seconds.
  5. Add sugar to egg and whisk vigorously until thick and homogeneous, about 30 seconds.
  6. Add melted butter in 2 or 3 steps, whisking to combine after each addition.
  7. Add yogurt in 2 steps, whisking until just combined.
  8. Lightly mix half of the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients; you want to leave some lumps.
  9. Add blueberries to remaining dry ingredients and gently toss to combine.
  10. Add the remaining dry ingredients and blueberries to yogurt mixture and carefully fold with rubber spatula until batter comes together and berries are evenly distributed, 25-30 seconds (small spots of flour will remain and batter will be thick). Do not overmix. 
  11. Divide batter evenly between muffin cups. Don’t forget to lick the spoon when you’re done.
  12. Sprinkle turbinado sugar over the top of each muffin (optional). The more you sprinkle, the better the crunch is when they are cooked.
  13. Bake until muffins are golden brown and toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out with few crumbs attached, 25-30 minutes.  (You may want to rotate the tin halfway through baking.)
  14. Invert muffins onto wire rack, stand muffins upright and let cool for 5 minutes.  (If you are using a silicone pan, you can just lift the muffins out. I have trouble inverting things.)
  15. Eat some warm, then refrigerate the rest for later.

Note: If you are not eating all the muffins immediately, these will keep in the fridge for about a week.  Don’t leave them out – there are no preservatives, and when you get to day four or so you will be very sad to see that there is a new shade of greenish-blue in addition to your blueberries.

Share your thoughts!

