Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Well, we can just add that to the list of “Never Doing That Again”s…

I had a big plan for my “welcome back, I really do have a blog” post, which actually consisted of a tiny little post I was hoping to call “lazy crock pot bbq chicken.”  This backfired when I decided that “lazy” included “cutting up a whole raw chicken”.  Let me just say one thing:  Eff that.  From now on, I am sticking with boneless skinless chicken breast nicely cut and packaged up for me.  I don’t care how much more it costs or what they did with the rest of the chicken.  (Caring is what lead to this terrible idea in the first place.  Again- Eff that.)

There are no pictures to accompany this post.  You wouldn’t want to see what I just did to that poor chicken.  I will say that the prelude to the adventure involved watching YouTube videos of how to cut up (or debone) a chicken.  Those were fairly entertaining, especially this one and this one.  I tried to exercise my chicken a little bit, but I was too overwhelmed by the “this used to be a real bird” sensation.

I’m sorry if you’re vegetarian and this whole idea is repulsive to you. I agree with you.

I’m sorry if you’re meatatarian (or “meat activist”) and you think people should be able to deal with what they’re eating. I agree with you, too.

I’m just one of those gals who would rather know intellectually than literally.  If I had to cut up chickens every time I wanted to eat one, I would not eat them.  And then my poor hubby would be sad, and possibly starve to death because he can’t subsist solely off of vegetables and I already refuse to work with anything other than poultry.

Anyway, the dratted thing poor dead chicken is now willfully dissected and ready to be put in the crock pot, and I’ve got a ziplock of chicken parts that I can’t or won’t eat and I’m too grossed out/wasteful/unambitious to even think about making chicken stock (and besides, what on earth would I do with it?), and I’m pretty much done. I’ll let you know how the bbq comes out tomorrow (or sometime later when I get around to posting), but for now, be warned – whole raw chickens are not for the faint of heart!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Lazy Crock-Pot Barbecue « livingwithpurple

  2. Pingback: Free Union Grass Farm Roasted Chicken « livingwithpurple

Share your thoughts!

