Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Cookie Season Begins: A Brief Look at Snickerdoodles

Today, after a hard day of moving an office, Calin requested cookies. Then he advised me that he would even help me make them, and that I could listen to Christmas music while we made them, just this once, if I wanted.  (Please keep in mind that it is still October, in case I take forever to actually post this.)

I asked him if he was sick, or if he had been abducted and replaced.

And thus, cookie season begins.

We did not listen to Christmas music.  (My Pandora “French” station was just fine.  Even I can’t stomach Christmas before Thanksgiving, much less Halloween.) But help he did!  He got out ingredients and measuring devices, he measured things, he turned on the mixer and watched diligently while it did it’s duty, he added things, and, when the going got tough, he got out the scraper and scraped down the sides!

That’s where I discovered his ploy, of course.  Once the scraper has been used to scrape, it can be used to lick.

From there, I took over.  He could not be trusted with the beater until I had carefully spooned several cookies worth of dough back into the bowl, although he lurked close by waiting for me to be swayed, or to drop dough on the counter.  In the end, he got to lick the (now mostly bare) beater while I rolled, sugared, and baked him these scrumptious treats.

~*~

Snickerdoodles
Adapted from Betty Crocker

Makes 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups Gold Medal® all-purpose or unbleached flour
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt

For rolling:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Mix sugar, butter, shortening and eggs in large bowl or the bowl of your stand mixer.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt.
  4. Blend flour mixture  slowly (and carefully! poof!) into the sugar mixture.  Mix just until combined.
  5. Mix 1/4 cup sugar and the cinnamon.
  6. Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls.
  7. Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar mixture.
  8. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  9. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set.
  10. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.
3 responses

  1. Mary Allen

    Snickerdoodles always remind me of my mom, Tancy (to your mom), and you baking in our kitchen in Santa Fe as a young girl wearing the clothes you pilfered from my brother Tom’s drawer, which were all too big for you: tube socks and white undershirt. A lovely memory. Thanks for jogging it for me :). Your cuz, Mary

    November 6, 2012 at 7:03 am

    • They really are just a family heirloom, aren’t they? Margie actually reminded me about them at Joan and Carl’s wedding – and reminded me about the importance of shortening! I hadn’t made them in years. Thanks for adding another fond memory. Maybe I’ll make some for the reunion this summer!

      November 6, 2012 at 8:14 am

    • Also, I was definitely prone to awesome self-outfitting. I think it runs in the family…

      November 6, 2012 at 8:14 am

Share your thoughts!

