Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook: Best Blogiversary Present Ever

Technically this cookbook was my birthday present. But since the publication date was later, and I actually received said cookbook much closer to my blogiversary, from my co-blogging fiend Alimonkee, I’ve decided it was actually meant as a blogiversary present.

Smitten Kitchen has been a favorite blog stand-by since I started reading foodie blogs. I can’t remember whether Alice got me started or I got her started, but either way, we’re both hooked. So giving me the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook as a birthday/blogiversary present could not be more perfect. In fact, when she told me she’d gotten me a present, she said “Guess what it is!” and only had to give me one hint. (As an aside, if you don’t already follow the Smitten Kitchen blog and you like cooking/food/blogs, start now. Seriously. Click that link, or do a google search, and sign up. Or bookmark it. Or whatever. You will not regret it, I promise.)

Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

I’m not going to pull a Julie & Julia here, mostly because I don’t have time. (Although, heavens, certainly not because I don’t want to. There isn’t a recipe in this book that I don’t want to make now now now.) But I do have big plans to make many of these recipes in short order.

Particularly the ones in this section:

Smitten Kitchen Sweets

Oh my god the Tiny but Intense Chocolate Cake might do me in just looking at the pictures. (I nearly had a heart attack when I realized that I do not have a 6″ springform pan and I could not get one at World Market. Panic panic. But Amazon once again will save the day, and oh god they have a 4″ one too, and where am I going to put all these kitchen gadgets?! Thank goodness for wishlists.)

Here is a short list of the most imminent recipe attempts*:

  • Peach and Sour Cream Pancakes
  • Gingerbread Spice Dutch Baby
  • Whole Wheat Raspberry Ricotta Scones
  • Potato Frittata with Feta and Scallions
  • Cheddar Swirl Breakfast Buns (actually on my shopping list for this weekend)
  • Roasted Baby Roots with Sherry-Shallot Vinaigrette
  • Emmenthaler on Rye with Sweet and Sour Red Onions
  • Butternut Squash and Caramelized Onion Galette
  • Shaved Asparagus Pizza
  • Gnocchi in Tomato Broth
  • Leek Fritters with Garlic and Lemon
  • Sesame-spiced Turkey Meatballs and Smashed Chickpea Salad (also on the shopping list)
  • Flat Roasted Chicken with Tiny Potatoes
  • Roasted Fingerling and Carrot Coins
  • Tomato-glazed Meatloaves with Brown Butter Mashed Potatoes
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
  • Cranberry Crumb Bars with Mulling Spices
  • Gooey Cinnamon Squares
  • Whole Lemon Bars
  • Butterscotch Banana Tarte Tatin
  • Chocolate Silk Pie
  • Marbled Pumpkin Gingersnap Tart
  • Deepest Dish Apple Pie
  • Blueberry Cornmeal Butter Cake
  • Tiny but Intense Chocolate Cake
  • Rosemary Gruyere and Sea Salt Crisps
  • French Onion Toasts

Farther down the line only because Picky Hubby won’t eat these:

  • Tomato Scallion Shortcakes with Whipped Goat Cheese
  • Wild Mushroom Tart
  • Mushroom Bourguignon

Okay, remember how I said “short list”? This is going to be a problem in this cookbook, I can tell already. And no, that’s nowhere near all of the recipes in there. I really, truly did pare down the list.

It’s going to be an amazing baking season.

~*~

* I’m adding links to these recipes as I make and post them.  Keep an eye out for updates!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Tomato-Glazed Meatloaf – Smitten Kitchen « LivingWithPurple

  2. Pingback: Gooey Cinnamon Squares – Smitten Kitchen | LivingWithPurple

Share your thoughts!

