Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Sweet Potato Fritters

This is another case of a recipe I found by accident that I had to make immediately. I love sweet potatoes, and Calin generally doesn’t, so anything I can do with them that I think he might actually eat is always welcome.  Also, fritters are some of my favorite things – probably just because of the word – so they’re high on my list of things to learn how to make.  If I’d known before I became an addict just how fried these little buggers are, I might have tried to stay away…

I never was very good at following directions.  When a recipe says “3 cups mashed sweet potatoes”, do normal people think “Hmm, I’d better peel and cook all six of my sweet potatoes, just in case!”?

If you’re one of those people, too, let me just tell you now.  Six sweet potatoes is more like … 7 cups mashed?

Anyway, I cooked them all.  They took up the whole pot, but they looked pretty.  And there are so many things you can use mashed sweet potato for!  Here they are just put in the pot, with very sharp pototoey edges.

And here they are about 30 minutes later, getting nice and soft.

Meanwhile, next door on the counter, spices etc. were being assembled.  You could use any spice in the breading.   The chili was nice (we didn’t have light, so I just used dark), but we could have used jerk seasoning or anything else we had on hand.  Also, coarse salt might work better than fine.

Look at all those mashed sweet potatoes.  Three cups, it said!  Well, at least I won’t run out.

The most exciting part of this whole recipe was the coconut oil, which is solid at room temperature, and melts rapidly as it heats up (skin temperature will do it), and also is apparently very good for you, and tastes delicious, and can be used as skin cream.  In retrospect, I could have just used olive oil, but this was much more interesting and adventurous.

The almond meal I found in the bulk section at Whole Foods.  Who would have thought?  I also found it later packaged at Giant, so apparently it’s not as rare as I thought.

Three cups!  Not the same as a whole stock pot!

Making the patties was actually really hard.  They’re very sticky, and they don’t really hold together very well.  Once they were cooked, that worked in their favor, but for assembly purposes, they were more sticky than patty.  Which also made breading them really hard – they kept crumbling in the breading.

After all that, let me just tell you that even 3 cups of potatoes made many more fritters than the almond meal could bread. I only ended up cooking 6 out of the 9 patties I made, and even those 9 didn’t use all of the potatoes.  If you want to make a full batch of fritters, double the breading recipe.

Look how cool that is!  That’s solid coconut oil floating in melted coconut oil, like icebergs.  Except really warm ones.

Are you ready?  The patties were…

Into the oil they went, splish splash, burble sizzle, ready to cook their little hearts out.

I’m not really big on frying things, but this was actually a lot of fun.  Flipping them was definitely a challenge, though, since they kept trying to fall apart.  Next time, though, I will try cooking these over higher heat; the fritters were still very soft and not that crispy.  But coconut oil isn’t meant for high heat, so you have to be careful turning it up on these.

And the oil draining off of them afterwards was a little scary, but also really pretty.  I think the yellow color is from the sweet potato rather than the oil.  A lot of the breading came off in the pan, but there was definitely enough left.  And the patties didn’t really … cook… precisely.  They really just warmed up and the crust got crusty.

We served the fritters with sour cream because that’s what I had on hand, but plain yogurt would be better.  The fritters are already pretty rich, so a lighter, more sour flavor would have helped tone them back a little.  We also used chives because I have them in the garden, but the stronger flavor from scallions would also have been delicious.

Calin cooked up some apples and maple apple sausage to go with them (sweet potato fritters alone are apparently not a meal in my house).  All told, it was a delicious meal, if a little richer than we’re used to.  I would definitely make them again with a little modification.

~*~

Paleo Sweet Potato Fritters
Modified from Fed and Fit

Makes 5 large fritters

Time: 10 minutes prep; 15 minutes cook

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups Mashed Sweet Potatoes
  • ½ cup Almond Meal
  • ¾ cup Virgin Coconut Oil
  • 2 tsp Cracked Pepper
  • 2 tsp Sea Salt
  • 2 tsp Light Chili Powder

Optional:

  • ½ cup Chopped Green Onion
  • 1 Tbl Non-Fat Greek Yogurt (for each fritter)

Directions:

  1. In a large frying pan, melt/heat the coconut oil.  Note: if you do not have enough coconut oil to cover the bottom of your frying pan, add more until it does.
  2. Divide your mashed sweet potatoes into even-sized balls. This is really where you can determine how many you want to make and how large.
  3. Mold each sweet potato ball into a flat circle that is approximately ½” thick.
  4. With a fork, stir the pepper, sea salt, and chili powder in with the almond meal.
  5. Pour the almond meal onto a large plate.
  6. Press each sweet potato cake into the almond meal and, with your hand, insure the seasoned almond meal sticks evenly to all sides.
  7. When all cakes have been dusted, carefully lay them in the hot coconut oil.
  8. If they do not start sizzling, turn up the heat until they do.
  9. Set aside a large plate covered in paper towels.
  10. Cook for approximately 7 minutes on one side.
  11. Carefully flip and cook for another 7 minutes on the other side.
  12. When they’re finished, carefully move them to the paper towel-lined plate and let cool for a few minutes.
  13. Serve with a large dollop of non-fat Greek yogurt and a sprinkling of fresh green onions.

~*~

This isn’t the recipe I used for the mashed sweet potatoes, but it’s the one provided with the recipes for the fritters, so I thought I’d share this as well.  I made ours by boiling, not baking.  I just chopped the potatoes into large chunks and boiled them for about 20 minutes in a heavy pot with a pinch of salt.

Simple Mashed Sweet Potatoes

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  3. Take two large sweet potatoes and poke holes in them with a fork.
  4. Bake for approximately 1 hour (or until the skin peels back easily).
  5. Let cool then peel.
  6. Place in a large Ziploc bag, seal, and mash.
  7. Store in the refrigerator until ready to use.
2 responses

  1. Beautiful post and thank you for the mention!

    November 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    • Thank you! And, of course! Credit where credit’s due – I don’t invent my own recipes, I just butcher everyone else’s. :) I would never get anywhere if other people didn’t make beautiful, delicious looking things for me to drool over.

      November 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Share your thoughts!

