Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Happy (day before) Thanksgiving!

It’s been a busy week, and I haven’t had time to get a real post together for you today, so I’ll just share the pretty new books I got at our Friends of the Library book sale this past week.

I promise I’ll put something good together for Friday, when we’re all sitting around like fat (happy, totally satisfied) slugs, digesting copious amounts of delicious food.


I do this twice a year; books are one of the few things (chocolate, cheese, kittens) that I can’t resist.  I always go in with good intentions, except “good intentions” is subject to interpretation.  When I’m in my car out front, it means “don’t spend too much money”.  By the time I get inside and start browsing, it turns into “buy everything I want because they’re so much cheaper than new books and it supports my awesome local library”.

This year, I went for the pre-sale, then I went again for the regular sale, then I went again for the end of the regular sale, then I went again for half price day…  But it was entirely worth it.  I got great books, and most of them are bright colors!  (Ever since I organized my book shelves by color, buying books that don’t have black or white spines has become a priority.  And no, these will not be permanently living on my coffee table, but at the moment I’m out of bookshelf space and that calls for desperate measures.)

Here’s this year’s haul, organized by color, by photo.  As you can see, I’m a bit of an eclectic reader…

Photo 1, from full-price day, featuring some totally new, and some previously loved authors:

  • The Year of the Flood, Margarat Atwood
  • Cutting for Stone, Abraham Verghese,
  • I Am Half-Sick of Shadows, Alan Bradley
  • Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Hunter S Thompson
  • The Rum Diary, Hunter S Thompson
  • The Unusual Live of Tristan Smith, Peter Carey
  • Troll: A Love Story, Johanna Sinisalo
  • Live of Pi, Yann Martel
  • Babel Tower, A.S. Byatt
  • Elementals, A.S. Byatt
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, Michael Chabon
  • The Making of a Chef, Michael Ruhlman
  • Espresso Tales, Alexander McCall Smith
  • The Girl with No Shadow, Joanne Harris
  • A Red Herring with Mustard, Alan Bradley
  • The Sherlockian, Graham Moore
  • Sleep, Pale Sister, Joanne Harris
  • Rose Daughter, Robin McKinley (new to me in hardback)
  • The Night Watch, Sarah Waters,
  • Blackberry Wine, Joanne Harris
  • Team of Rivals, Doris Kearns Goodwin
  • The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, Laurie R King
  • Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
  • Hell’s Angels, Hunter S Thompson
  • Winter’s Tale, Mark Helprin
  • The Romance of the Forest, Ann Radcliffe
  • Five Quaters of the Orange, Joanne Harris
  • Consider the Lobster, David Foster Wallace

Photo 2, from half-price day, featuring many books I’d never heard of before:

  • Blonde, Joyce Carol Oates
  • Elizabeth I, Margaret George
  • Birdsong, Sebastian Faulkes
  • The Unbearable Lightness of Scones, Alexander McCall Smith
  • Anything Considered, Peter Mayle
  • Singing Bird, Roisin McAuley
  • Waterland, Graham Swift
  • I Capture the Castle, Dodie Smith
  • Labyrinth, Kate Mosse
  • A Confederacy of Dunces, John Kennedy Toole
  • The Girl at the Lion d’Or, Sebastian Faulkes
  • The Firebrand, Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • The French Mathematician, Tom Petsinis
  • The Tea Rose, Jennifer Donnelly
  • The Corrections, Johnathan Franzen
  • The Broken Teaglass, Emily Arsenault
  • Th Autobiography of Henry VIII, A Novel, Margaret George
  • The Solitude of Prime Numbers, Paolo Giordano
  • Chocolat, Joanne Harris (new to me in hardback)
  • Rose Cottage, Mary Stewart (new to me in hardback)

The joys of library book sales – I spent about $60 for ALL of these.  Gotta love it…

~*~

If you’re interested in what I read and what I think of it, you can find me on GoodReads.

Share your thoughts!

