Flour and Flowers | A Kitchen and Garden Blog

Happy New Year! Won’t 2013 be grand?

One of my (many) New Year’s Resolutions (they’re more like… guidelines, really) is to get this blog off the ground and running strong, which of course primarily means that I have to keep posting.   So what better way to start off the new year and the new pace than with a New Year’s Post?

2012 was a pretty great year.  I won’t go into the details – you’ve seen most of the exciting bits here – but it surpassed my expectations.  I have big plans for 2013, most of which involve reading, cooking, or gardening, but I’m not going to go into details there either because I don’t want you to hold me to anything. :)  But the past week has held promise, and I’m looking forward to infinite projects, goals, book lists, recipes, friends, family, trips, stay-at-homes, food, kitties, and much, much more for 2013.

Here are a few snippets of my holiday season for you, since I’ve been a bit off the ball. A look back at year’s end, if you will:

First, Reenie enjoying the Christmas tree.  Can you find him?


Then, a light and brief snow flurry, with some of the biggest snowflakes I’ve ever seen. (We didn’t have a white Christmas, but we did have snow the day before, snow and ice the day after, and more snow two days later. All of which disappeared from the ground within an hour after the actual precipitation stopped.)


And finally, a home-made peppermint “mocha” in Hubby’s new, incredibly beautiful pottery coffee mug made by Cousin Bootsy.

Plus, I hinted at this earlier, but I was given a pasta maker attachment for my KitchenAid for Christmas, which I tried out in an undocumented lasagna attempt (mostly successful) this weekend, and which I promise I will be trying again in an actual, documented adventure that I’ll share with you. (I’m planning to make spinach linguine and butternut squash ravioli! But not at the same time.)

A very smart person once told me that the best way to stick to your resolutions was to tell everyone, so you’re held accountable.  (Clearly I’m not following through on this, but it was very good advice.)  What fun-filled or thrill-seeking plans have you made for your new year?  Any exciting (or necessary) resolutions?

Happy New Year, everyone.

 

Share your thoughts!

